Thank you for #BeingCoop
Saying thank you made simple

2018 Thank you for Being Co-op Awards

The first ever Co-op-wide 'Thank you for Being Co-op Awards' 2018, which closed on 2 March, were a great success.

Over six weeks, Co-op colleagues used this website to nominate their fellow colleagues across 12 award categories – ranging from the Community Star Award, to Funeralcare Colleague of the Year. Co-op members could join in and nominate colleagues.

We received a staggering

1,859 Nominations

From which we drew up a shortlist and eventually selected our 12 winners.

Community Star Award - Joanne Bale
Store Manager - Petrol Thorne

Jo has worked at Co-op for 36 years and is a Store Manager at Petrol Thorne in Doncaster. Read more

Co-op Member Choice Award - Michelle Benton
Store Manager - Priorswood Place

Michelle is a Store Manager at our Priorswood Place store in Taunton. Read more

Do What Matters Most Award - Laura Tilbury
Funeral Arranger - Windsor

Laura is a Funeral Arranger in our Berkshire region. Read more

Be Yourself Always Award - Michael Pengelly
Food Regional Manager

Michael is a Regional Manager in Food for Wales, Herefordshire and Shropshire. Read more

Show You Care Award - Will Hall
Team Manager - Birtley depot

Will is a Team Manager in the Transport department at Birtley depot. Read more

Succeed Together Award (team award) - Adel Food Store team
Adel Food Store team - Leeds

Adel store team are an incredible bunch of people. They faced one of the most difficult situations you can imagine with dignity, courage and togetherness. Read more

Store Colleague of the Year - Sam Peake
Customer Team Member - Cosby Main Street

Sam Peake works in our Cosby store. Read more

Insurance Colleague of the Year - Dee Germaine-Dibley
Supply Chain Manager - Manchester

Dee is a Supply Chain Manager in Miller St, Manchester. Read more

Funeralcare Colleague of the Year - Vicky Walmsley
Funeral Arranger - Allerton Road, Liverpool

Vicky is a Funeral Arranger in Allerton Rd Funeralcare in Liverpool. Read more

Logistics Colleague of the Year - Barbara French
Warehouse Operative - Plymouth depot

Barbara has worked for nearly 40 years at our Plymouth depot. Read more

Legal Services Colleague of the Year - Anezka Piska
Regional Probate Consultant - South West

Anezka works as a Probate Consultant in the South West. Read more

Support Centre Colleague of the Year - Ian Rogerson
Technical Manager - Delicious Food Team

Ian is a Technical Manager working in our Beers, Wines and Spirits department in One Angel Square, Manchester. Read more

  • Cheryle Waters
    Admin Arranger, Funeralcare
  • Clover Hudson
    Portfolio & Change Manager, Group Support
  • David Hughes
    Store Manager, Blaenau Ffestiniog
  • Emma Cornish
    Store Manager, Colne
  • Euan MacKenzie
    Store Manager, Tillicoultry
  • John Sheppard
    Driver Shunter, Castlewood depot
  • Natalie Wood
    Supply Chain Delivery Consultant, Insurance
  • Renee Foy
    Store Team Leader, Oakley
  • Stephen McMahon
    Store Manager, Old Park Road
  • Trevor Rigley
    Store Manager, Enderby
  • Annie Matheson
    Customer Team Member, Stornoway
  • Ballycastle Store Team
  • Clare Lewin
    Customer Team Member, Onchan
  • Jacqui Sutherland
    Funeral Director, Bottesford Road
  • Rachel Burke
    Customer Team Member, Old Bank Road, Mirfield
  • Rebecca Hunt
    Store Team Leader, Portsmouth Road
  • Teresa Hassan
    Customer Team Member, Rothesay Bridge Street
  • Therasa Gannon
    Store Manager, Edwinstowe
  • Tracey Coggin
    Store Team Leader, Milners Lane
  • Andrew Franks
    Store Manager, Ponteland
  • Beth McGlasson
    HR Assistant, Group Support
  • Caroline Mewton
    Store Team Leader, St Ives
  • Ffion Griffiths
    Customer Team Member, Coedpoeth
  • Jacqueline Dickson
    Customer Team Member, Oldpark
  • James Collins
    Store Team Leader, Cosby Main Street
  • Matt Arrigonie
    Food Area Manager
  • Matt Brown
    Store Manager, Cranfield
  • Tony Fulton
    Health and Safety Manager, Newhouse depot
  • Alan Riley
    Warehouse Operative, Lea Green depot
  • Debra McMillan
    Customer Team Member, Heysham
  • Emma Barrett
    Consents Manager, Group Property
  • Jackson Mills
    Store Manager, Kirkham
  • Paul Moorman
    Food Area Manager
  • Rebecca White
    Learning Facilitator, Food Stores Central
  • Stewart Livingstone
    Lead Learning Designer, HR
  • Alison McPhee
    Customer Team Member, New Deleval
  • Andrea Godber
    Branch Manager, Hinton Woodland Burial Ground
  • Ann Uglow
    Customer Team Member, Cullompten
  • David Spick
    LGV Driver, Castlewood depot
  • Humzah Shah
    Customer Team Member, Newhall Square
  • James Potts
    Funeral Director, North Shields
  • Josh McNaboe
    Store Manager, Sovereign Square
  • Karen Bainbridge
    Food Team Leader, Shiphay
  • Paul Whittington
    Transport Clerk, Castlewood depot
  • Sandra Budd
    Food Team Leader, Cullompten
  • Tom Walton
    Food Team Leader, Petrol Hopwood
  • Aspull Food Store team
  • Bishops Castle Store team
  • Co-op Events team
    Group Support
  • Digital Flex team
  • Insurance Marketing team
  • Operational Excellence team
  • Probate Operations team
    Legal Services, Bristol
  • Regent Road Store team
  • Stock Audit team
    Avonmouth depot
  • Andrea Sample
    Store Team Leader, Hartburn
  • Elizabeth McClean
    Store Manager, Brodick
  • Emma Day
    Store Team Leader, Aughton
  • Gary Redpath
    Store Manager, Longridge
  • Jane Currie
    Customer Team Member, In Store Baker, Northfields
  • Jon Ralston
    Customer Team Member, Caton
  • Pat McFarlane
    Customer Team Member, New Deleval
  • Sam Teare
    Store Team Leader, Oswestry
  • Deborah Towey
    Customer Services Manager
  • James Spearing
    Communications Business Partner
  • Jane Leah
    E-Channel Consultant
  • Laura McKiernan
    Marketing Manager
  • Matthew Wharmby
    Customer Service Advisor
  • Rebecca Mellor
    Digital Team Manager
  • Christine Mallinson
    Funeral Director, Heckmondwike Care Centre
  • Hazel Roberts
    Funeral Arranger, Thorne Branch
  • Jane Bentley
    Funeral Arranger, Doncaster Care Centre
  • Joe Howe
    Embalmer, South Shields
  • Neil McClory
    Funeral Director, Grantham Branch
  • Noreen Green
    Funeral Arranger, South Yorkshire
  • Tanya Pople-Barlow
    Admin Arranger, Skipton Branch
  • Azad Ahmed
    LGV Driver - Transport, Thurrock
  • Claire Chipperfield
    HRA, Avonmouth depot
  • Clare MacLauchlan
    Development Manager, Birtley depot
  • Heather Broderick
    Engagement Officer, Birtley depot
  • Helen Lumley
    National Transport Planning Support Officer, Birtley depot
  • Lee Williams
    Team Manager, Avonmouth depot
  • Sebastian Sochacki
    Planning Manager, Newhouse depot
  • Sue Williams
    Team Member, Lea Green depot
  • Jessica O'Sullivan
    Assistant Legal Executive
  • Matt Preston
    Team Leader, Technology Team, Legal Services
  • Michael Shaw
    Team Leader, Legal Services
  • Shelly Price
    Probate Advisory, Bristol
  • Daryl Sutcliffe
    Candidate Marketing Manager, Resourcing Team
  • Geri Barrington
    OSS Manager, Retail Support Centre
  • Jackie Howlett
    Head of Customer Services, Co-op Electrical
  • Kasim Rajput
    Auditor, Internal Audit
  • Nicola Kerr
    Client Relations, Funeralcare
  • Rob Morris
    Operating Model Modeller, Retail Support Centre

2018 awards

This video tells the story of our first awards. You can also find out about our 2018 winners.

Your session will expire in xx.xx
Continue or Log Out